Mar 012007

Excerpted from a press release…I wonder if Dylan even knows who Bryan Ferry is. I’ve always been a big fan of the above cover.

Capitol Music Plans June 19, 2007 U.S. Release

NEW YORK – Fulfilling a long-held dream, BRYAN FERRY will release a full album of classic songs written by Bob Dylan in early spring. The album, titled DYLANESQUE, is scheduled for release on Capitol Music Group on June 19, 2007.

The album, Ferry’s 12th solo project, was largely recorded in one week with his touring band in the studio, resulting in a warm, live, acoustic sound. Among the songs recorded for the album are such definitive songs of the singer-songwriter canon as “The Times They Are A-Changin’,” “Knockin’ on Heaven’s Door,” “Just Like Tom Thumb’s Blues,” “Simple Twist of Fate” and “All I Really Want To Do.” Aside from his songs of the Sixties and Seventies, Ferry also includes “Make You Feel My Love,” from Dylan’s acclaimed 1997 album Time Out of Mind. “The singer in me is overjoyed to be singing these songs,” Ferry said recently.

Roxy Music co-founder Brian Eno is credited with sonic enhancements on “If Not For You,” and other album guests include Robin Trower on guitar on “All Along the Watchtower.” Warren Ellis’s string arrangement is heard on “Positively 4th Street.”

Throughout his solo career, Bryan Ferry has been a brilliant interpreter of classics and standards of the rock, R&B and pop repertoire. He previously covered Dylan’s “A Hard Rain’s A-Gonna Fall” in 1973, as the first single from his first solo album, These Foolish Things. “It Ain’t Me, Babe” appeared on 1974’s Another Time, Another Place. He also recorded “It’s All Over Now, Baby Blue” and “Don’t Think Twice, It’s All Right” on his 2002 album, Frantic.

More News!


twitter facebook youtube